The EurSafe Board is elected by the General Assembly (held at each Conference). The composition of the EurSafe Board aims to maintain a balance between disciplines, languages, nationalities, and gender.


Kate Millar
Centre for Applied Bioethics, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom

Vice president
Franck L.B. Meijboom
Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Bernice Bovenkerk
Wageningen University and Research, The Netherlands

Dirk de Hen
The Netherlands



Stef Aerts
University College vzw Odisee/Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Diana Dumitras
University of Agricultural Science and Veterinary Medicine Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Leire Escajedo 
University of the Basque Country, Spain

Herwig Grimm
Messerli Research Institute, University of Veterinary Medicine, Medical University of Vienna and University of Vienna, Austria

Ariane Willemsen
Federal Ethics Committee on Non-Human Biotechnology (ECNH), Switzerland

Simon Meisch
University of Tuebingen, Germany

Teea Kortetmäki
University of Jyväskylä


Former Presidents

Prof. Cees Veerman, NL (1999-2000)
Former Minister of State of Agriculture, Nature, and, Food Quality and former Chair of the Executive Board of the Wageningen University and Research Centre, The Netherlands

Prof. Peter Sandøe, DK (2000-2007)
Director of the Centre for Bioethics and Risk Assessment, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Copenhagen , Denmark

Matthias Kaiser, N (2007-2016)
Director of Centre for the Study of the Sciences and Humanities, University of Bergen, Norway


Honorary Members / Life Membership

Ben Mepham






Prof. Ben Mepham
Centre for Applied Bioethics, University of Nottingham, UK

Given his extraordinary services to the Society, the General Assembly of the European Society of Agricultural and Food Ethics agreed (in Vienna, 15 September 2007) on the proposal of the Executive Committee to appoint Prof. dr. T. Ben Mepham as Honorary Member of the Society. The rights and position of Honorary Membership are formulated in the Statutes.


Peter Sandøe

Professor Peter Sandøe
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Peter Sandøe was awarded the title of Honorary Member of EurSafe during the 14thEurSafe congress in Vienna, for his tireless efforts for the society while he was president of EurSafe. 


Matthias Kaiser zww

Professor Matthias Kaiser
University of Bergen, Norway

Matthias Kaiser was awarded the title of Honorary Member of EurSafe during the 15th EurSafe congress in Tampere, for his leadership and hard work for the society while he was president of EurSafe.


Upcoming events

EurSafe 2022 Edinburgh
7th - 10st September 2022
Transforming Food Systems

Conference website


Join our ever growing network engaged in discussion of important ethical questions concerning agriculture, food, and animals. 

More information


Our newsletter EurSafe News, is published quarterly.

Read the latest newsletter



Dr. Bernice Bovenkerk
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Wageningen University
Department of Social Sciences/Philosophy 
PO Box 8130
The Netherlands